Searching For The Perfect Rug

A few months ago, Jared and I started talking seriously about buying a couch and a rug for our family room. We have never purchased a rug before and furniture purchases isn’t much higher. We’ve bought some mattresses (no frames or headboards) and a glider (which I love). Which has been okay with us up to now. We rarely have people over. We can deal with broken and mismatched furniture. But after 4 1/2 years of marriage with broken and mismatched furniture, we are ready to take the plunge.

I can’t wait to see how the couch we picked out looks in our family room. I’ll tell the whole story about it when I have pictures to show you. We are waiting anxiously for the phone call that says they can deliver it. Anytime in the next week!!

But this post is about rugs.

Oh, rugs…

Ever since we decided to move forward with the big spending, we’ve looked at rugs. Sometimes together, sometimes separately. I was thrilled when Jared called me upstairs to his office to show me some rugs that he had found. He took an interest instead of the backseat! That’s when I knew that we really would be buying a rug. So exciting.

After looking over hundreds of rugs on several websites plus doing some looking in stores (while pacifying Kaelyn in the cart or letting her run free with her aunt), we were beginning to think it would take a long time to find THE RUG. That one is too gray. That one is too dark. That blue probably won’t match. Too traditional. Too stripy. Too… you get the picture. One of us didn’t like something and neither of us really loved any of them. Oh, the drama!

You feel that way too, right? If you’re going to spend money, let’s make sure that we love it. Especially because it’s a lot of money to not like something.

Tonight was the first night that I found a rug that I love. Super heart love! And Jared really likes it too. I thought he would dislike it on account of the color. He only commented on the color but once I assured him that it fit in with my whole vision for the room, he confessed that he really liked it too (even if he still doesn’t see how how it will all tie together).

And then I decided to keep looking and found another one we both really like but not quite as much as the first. I figure that we’re not actually ready to purchase it (but we can next month) so why not give us a few more options.

I know you’re dying to see what sort of rug I love with a super heart love. Check it out!

Isn’t it lovely?! It is light and bright. We haven’t been overly fond of these patterns but we really like this one and I couldn’t tell you why!

And here is rug #2.

Ha, totally different colors, right?? Yellow is another color I want in the room but I haven’t been too fond of the yellows I have been seeing. Jared usually doesn’t like geometric patterns and while he said “it is busy” he likes that it is light. And it doesn’t bother him too much.

Well, I’m off to look at some more rugs! Don’t you love it when you find something that just clicks for you?

UPDATE: I am sooo sad! I wanted to see some reviews for the green rug. Know what I found? The rug everywhere else is green & beige which is so dark looking instead of the wonderful bright green & ivory that I first saw. I have a question into the original site to confirm but my heart is already broken.

Leave some love!

